Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

Damocles’ Cat

with one comment

My eldest cat has taken to sleeping while sprawled on the shower curtain rod. It’s certainly an interesting place for a cat to sleep, I’ve never seen anything like it before. It must remind him of sleeping on some primordial tree branch.

It would only be a curiosity except that he sleeps there while I shower. Fifteen pounds of “claw first, ask questions later” perched precariously above me while I bathe. Now I know how Damocles felt. I try not to think about what might happen should he fall and feel the need to slow down on his way to the floor. Until he finds another place to sleep, I’m showering with my trousers on.

I think my next pet is going to be a gerbil. Or a plant.

Written by unitedcats

June 25, 2006 at 11:54 pm

Posted in Berkeley, Cats

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] I took my calico to the vet today. I was hoping they could do something about her condition, but the vet said veterinary science still hasn’t found a cure. Someday when science has advanced far enough, they will be able to turn her into a nice Siamese or something. Until that joyous day I just thank God she isn’t the one sleeping on the shower curtain rod, or I would look like this. […]

    Doug’s Darkworld »

    July 10, 2006 at 8:22 pm


Leave a Reply

