Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

Things I Think About Waiting for the Second Cup of Coffee

with 5 comments

I used to think that I was pretty clear headed even without a morning cup of coffee. Granted, I always have a pot going within nanoseconds of arising, but I could function without it, right? Then one morning something went wrong, I made coffee but somehow it didn’t kick in. An hour or two later I managed to make a second cup and get it into me in time, before I had to break the caffeine loaded intracardial needle out of its display case. Then I saw the cats’ water bowl, it was filled with coffee. Somehow I had gotten up, made coffee, and gave it to my cats? So much for the idea that I can think clearly before my first coffee of the day.

Moving right along…November, National Novel Writing Month is upon us. 175 pages in four weeks, piece of cake. Badly written cake though, it takes about 8 hours to write a well crafted page. I don’t have 1400 free hours in November, so my draft is going to be a little unpolished. Not sure what the subject will be, cats maybe. Was thinking of writing about “The Mistakes of the Bush Administration” but it would be too depressing, and there would just be more to write about at the end of the month, I’d lose ground. (Yes, I have to make an obligatory Bushco dig every blog, it’s the law in Berkeley.)

Science news. Some scientists now think that getting enough sleep is as important as exercise and nutrition when it comes to longevity. Myself, I’m working on a machine that allows me to exercise in my sleep. Though living with cats fits at least part of the bill, tossing a heavy cat off the bed dozens of times a night is hard work, I sometimes wake up with a backache.

I’m more worried about another aspect of this “get enough sleep” business. If I get more sleep, I’ll live longer, right? That means that by giving up waking hours in my productive youth, I’ll get more hours tacked on to the decrepit end of my life? I will literally be trading time as a youth for time as an old man. Maybe it makes more sense to do the opposite, cut back to an hour of sleep a night. Sure I’ll drop dead when I’m sixty, but I can get a lot of blogging done in 23 hours a day.

Speaking of health, an awful lot of people are confused by all the various and conflicting claims of what you have to do and eat to stay healthy and live a long life. The thing to remember is that all these studies are based on statistics. They tell you the odds, but the odds do not determine your life. Plenty of people have lived excruciatingly healthy lifestyles and died young anyhow. Rodale is the best example, he was the guy who started the organic food craze. At age fifty on a live cable TV show he bragged that with his healthy diet he expected to live to be 100. Then he dropped dead. Hmm.

I believe in the Greek motto, moderation in all things. If you stick to that, you’re as safe as you’re likely going to be. Watch out for buses is another motto of mine, I always stand well away for the curb when I am on sidewalks. No one ever gets moderately run over by a bus. The most important thing of all is attitude, attitude is everything. It’s also the only thing you can control. As someone said, if you’re going to laugh about something years from now, why not laugh now? Granted my neighbours complain a lot about my non stop hysterical laughter, but I’m not ready to give up watching the news on TV yet.

Speaking of TV, I am disturbed by the number of commercials that make a huge deal about keeping your credit score up. Credit scores are even being used in hiring decisions now! Apparently all the good things in life depend on having good credit, if TV is to be believed. Quite literally a value assigned by money changers rules our lives and prospects? Um folks, Jesus is spinning in his grave. We are most definitely not a Christian nation if the measure of a man is his credit score!

As always, these are my theories for today, and I’m not changing them unless persuaded by logical argument. An attitude I recommend everyone adopt, it would make things on Earth go so much more smoothly. On the other hand, there’d be little to blog about. How’s that for a silver lining? The world is screwed, but at least there’s an endless supply of blog topics. I think that’s in the Bible too, somewhere near the back. ;)

Written by unitedcats

October 30, 2006 at 9:54 am

Posted in Health, Philosophy, Science

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I thought moderation was an oriental concept like from a Chinese philosopher like Confucius. I found that the Hellenistic age was about 2 or 3 thousand years after the Asians.

    lightcontrast

    October 30, 2006 at 2:46 pm

  2. There is every possibility the Greek philosophers were influenced by previous Asian teachings, since the world is not that big a place and people can bloody walk across Asia. Nonetheless while no philosopher specifically said “moderation in all things” many Classical Greek philosophers said something similar. I have this theory that healthy elements of western ancient learning actually have a nice peaceful holistic tradition that echos some eastern philosophy. It’s just been perverted by the excesses of monotheism the last millenia or so.

    LOL In a general sense though your point is valid, it is amusing how so many inventions that the west routinely pats itself on the back for, were discovered in Asia thousands of years ago. Go figure.

    /end rant
    Thanks for dropping by.
    Doug

    unitedcats

    October 30, 2006 at 9:19 pm

  3. “Granted my neighbours complain a lot about my non stop hysterical laughter, but I’m not ready to give up watching the news on TV yet.”

    That made me laugh out loud… in my office.. thus giving away the fact that I have absolutely nothing to do…

    But hey, it don’t matter, this post was a great start to my day! thanx doug! :D

    krispydixie

    October 30, 2006 at 10:33 pm

  4. “…at at least there’s an endless supply of blog topics. I think that’s in the Bible too, somewhere near the back.”

    Funny, I have never noticed. The Book of Blog? The Blog to the Ephesians. John, Blogs I and II? The Psalms of Blog. I don’t think so. Matthew, Mark, Luke, John and Blog.

    Just isn’t coming together for me ….

    Zo

    October 31, 2006 at 6:29 am

  5. Hmm, Matthew 25:23
    “His lord said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant; you have been faithful over a few things, I will make you ruler over many things. Enter into the joy of your lord.’”

    Doug

    October 31, 2006 at 6:56 am


Leave a Reply

