Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

Through Thick and Thin

with 8 comments

Once again my fine post on the Imperial Japanese Navy is going to have to wait, not to mention a post on mirrored elephants that I know people are just dying to read. Yes, too many tidbits in the news this morning. Some of them even good tidbits, depending on one’s point of view. As always, others are the dread icky bickies. (An icky bicky is something a dog finds on the ground that is edible to a dog, but is not even recognizable to a human.)

Israel and Hezbollah have begun negotiations. Thank God. It’s always a good idea to negotiate with people, at the very least it can’t hurt. This means that both sides have at least tacitly acknowledged the other side’s right to exist. Maybe nothing will come of it, but who knows. The fact that the US’s influence is on the wane in the region may encourage more of this.

On the other hand Israel launched a major incursion into Gaza, three steps forward and two steps back. Sigh. Armies make very poor police forces and generally create more problems than they solve when used as such. Maybe some day people will learn this. Look how well it’s working out in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Back on the plus side, a great new Martian panorama has been released! Click on the picture to see the expanded version, it’s pretty cool if you are into that sort of thing. The amount of money spent on space exploration is trivial compared to what is wasted on war and other excesses, so these pics are well worth the cost. I can stare at Martian landscapes for hours, so much wilderness, and not a Wal-Mart in sight. Who says there aren’t any miracles? ;)

Sadly, must end on a down note. There is something terribly wrong with my eldest cat today, he may have run off to die even. So I’m a little out of sorts, sorry about the lackluster post. Amazing how attached one can get to “just” a little animal. Fungus been with me through thick and thin for over a decade. I hope he comes back and is better, or the vet can figure out what’s wrong.

Written by unitedcats

November 1, 2006 at 12:28 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. it’s like a lover leaving without a word, with no explanation, except it’s worse, for we never really reach them, our dearest little companions, without shared language … which makes it all the more bittersweet sad … for animals are the only pure good we know, in this life. animals and infants. i’m sorry for your loss.

    zo

    November 1, 2006 at 6:19 pm

  2. The Fung is living in the yard, totally freaked. I fear the problem is that his son has decided he must leave. Since Fung is a total suke with nowhere to go, this is a problem. :(
    Doug

    unitedcats

    November 1, 2006 at 11:02 pm

  3. First, I hope the cat is okay.

    Second, I wanted to mention that I like that you aren’t pro-one side or the other.

    You are wrong about one thing, though: Israel has never ever denied Lebanon’s right to exist, or anyone else for that matter. Israel has always acknowledged its neighbors, which is more than you can say about the other sides.

    Hamas still doesn’t recognize Israel and calls for its destruction. How are you supposed to make peace with someone who doesn’t even acknowledge you exist?

    For the record, I don’t agree with the recent incursion into Gaza, though I know that everyone is really sick of all the rockets being launched into Israel on a daily basis.

    taltalk

    November 2, 2006 at 8:53 am

  4. Thank you, I really try to be partisan to one side only…the innocents who have died in this endless stupid cycle of violence.

    I was referring to Israel’s refusal to allow an independent Palestinian State.

    I am not sure how to make peace in the Middle east, but I am sure that not even trying is pretty much doomed from the get go.

    Thanks for dropping by, you raise interesting points which I will think about and blog on. For the record I am equally apalled by the Palestinian rockets as the IDF incursion, violence represents a failure of diplomacy.

    I can only hope that the leaders on all sides make better decisions in the future, talking to each other can’t help but make that more likely. The USA didn’t recognize Communist China’s right to exist for decades, maybe Nasrullah will take a page out of Nixon’s book and recognise Israel. Stranger things have happened.

    Doug

    Doug

    unitedcats

    November 2, 2006 at 9:39 am

  5. Hi Doug,

    Israel has not refused to allow an independent state of Palestine. Israel refuses to “negotiate” with a government that does not recognize it.

    I’d like to remind you that after Arafat’s death Israel started talking to the Palestinian government again. It was only when Hamas was elected last winter that talking stopped again, largly – if not wholly – due to the fact that they do not recognize our existance and they refuse to talk to us.

    They still have it listed in their charter (or whatever) that they do not recognize the state of Israel and call for its destruction.

    It’s kinda hard to talk to someone that way.

    If you poll Israelis, you will see that most are for a Palestinian state, or at least were a year ago when we pulled out of all the settlements in the Gaza strip.

    (By the way, I’m assuming you know this, but I will correct you anyway since you are talking about two different groups: Nasrallah is Hezbollah, not Palestinian.)

    You can see on my blog all kinds of stories that I post about Arab-Israeli cooperation. I want mine blog to both show our side of the conflict as well as show the good news and the good things about Israel.

    taltalk

    November 2, 2006 at 11:05 am

  6. A good friend of mine is actively involved with Israeli-Palestinian peace groups. As long as there are people on both sides working together for peace, there is hope.

    I have a lot of thoughts about the whole “who’s recognising who” issue and related issues, I will make a dedicated post about them in a few days. I hope we can continue our discussion at that point.

    You have an interesting blog, I will be checking it out further, I added you to my blogroll.

    Regards
    Doug

    unitedcats

    November 2, 2006 at 4:46 pm

  7. awww.. I hope fungus is ok too! :( we need an update on his condition… :(

    I am super attached to my cat so I know how it feels..

    The martian landscape pic is weird man…. :)

    krispydixie

    November 3, 2006 at 11:35 pm

  8. Thank you very much for your concern. I have posted an update on the Fungster’s current condition.

    BB
    Doug

    unitedcats

    November 4, 2006 at 8:01 am


Leave a Reply

