Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

Coffee Nightmare

with 9 comments

coffee_spill.jpg
Oh Dear God.

Nothing like spilling that first cup of coffee in the morning. One can only sit there in shock and horror, wishing that it was some expendable liquid like orange juice, or blood. Licking coffee off of a desktop simply isn’t as satisfying as holding the nice warm cup in one’s hands. On the plus side, the day can hardly go downhill from here.

I am pleased to report that I have now received over ten thousand page views on Doug’s Darkworld. It took years for my old cat site to rack up that many hits. War is more popular than cats I guess, go figure. And yesterday I got my first snarky comment! Oddly enough I have always been pleased when people take the time and trouble to pillory me, because it means I am getting through to them. No one takes the time to leave insulting comments on a boring blog, do they? I’m also going to blog more about the liberal bashing I see, frankly it scares me. While liberals may bash Bush and his policies, few of them engage in the sort of “all conservatives are stupid jerks” nonsense similar too how some conservatives carry on about liberals. Or maybe I’m just reading the wrong blogs.

Time Magazine’s coveted person of the year accolade has gone to…”you.” I guess that includes me, I’m pretty sure I recall from my school days the perils of using the “indefinite you” in prose. The idea is that Time is paying homage to the explosion of user generated content on the Internet. People really are turning to each other for news now instead of just relying on the so called main stream media. Or the “voice of corporate America” as I like to call it. When I’m being generous. Frankly I think it is a lame cop-out on Time’s part, on the other hand this is a close as I am ever going to get to being famous so I guess I should be happy. Will there be a group photo? Do all of us “yous” get a certificate we can hang on our wall?

As Christmas approaches here is an article about exactly when Christ was born. Best guess right now is that he was actually born in April of 5 BCE. Which reminds me of the probably still ongoing controversy about how to refer to the years in our calender. The “old” method was BC and AD, standing for Before Christ and Anno Domini (year of our lord.) For reasons that are unclear to me a lot of historians now use BCE and CE which stands for before Christian Era and Christian Era. I guess it’s a desire to be more secular, I dunno. And frankly, I don’t care, I’m sure there are more important things to get upset about.

Speaking of Christmas, looks like they are having a Green Christmas over much of Europe. Moscow is having possibly its warmest December on record. Some ascribe this to global warming. Others, like me, point out that ascribing any one season in a certain area to global warming is silly. Global warming is about global temperatures over the entire globe, IE long term trends over large areas. This is no more proof of global warming that this years slow hurricane season in North America was disproof of global warming.

Here in Berkeley it’s been rather cold lately. By Berkeley standards at least. It was 6C outside this morning, about as low as it ever gets. The cats looked distinctly annoyed, I reminded them that they are the ones with fur coats. Fortunately my utilities are included in my rent, so I have 14 space heaters aimed at various parts of my body, it’s quite comfy actually. Of course if there is a power surge, I will burst into flame.

(The above image is claimed as Fair Use under US copyright law. It is not being used for profit.)

Written by unitedcats

December 17, 2006 at 12:56 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. All that caffeine gone to waste. Sad.

    You know, liberals may not be as shameless about throwing the mud around and generalizing as some conservatives but I wouldn’t clear them just yet. Both side are way to fond of hyperbole for my taste. The Right may be fertile ground for the batsh*t crazies, but many liberal *love* to play the victimized voice of reason. I find moderation is a rare thing to fine on either side of the aisle. (Obviously I do not find politics frustrating.)

    The Time thing was incredibly idiotic I felt.

    SnoCone

    December 17, 2006 at 2:05 pm

  2. I agree, especially about the liberal bashing.

    B.C.E and C.E. actually refer to “common era” and “before the common era”. The change was gradual and done for many reasons…

    art

    December 17, 2006 at 3:43 pm

  3. Hi Doug!

    I cracked up about TIME. I thought to myself, “What, IT’S NOT MAHMOUD AHMADINEJAD? KIM JONG IL?
    HUGO CHAVEZ? NANCY PELOSI?”

    Ha!

    -Jack

    Jack

    December 17, 2006 at 3:51 pm

  4. Doug,

    Congrats on the 10 thousand! I expect to get 10 thousand by May.

    I’m disappointed by that, a little. Not that I don’t appreciate myself and my fellow human beings but still…was expecting a specific person or persons.

    Light

    lightcontrast

    December 17, 2006 at 7:45 pm

  5. I suppose Time was trying to show how “with it” they are, that they’re hip to the alternative media. Like a 55-year-old woman dressing in clothes designed for teens.

    BCE / CE is an attempt to be ecumenical (not secular). But it strikes me as odd. The only people it clearly encompasses are Christians and Jews (the Judeo-Christian tradition understood as a common faith). But perhaps it’s supposed to comprise Muslims as well (the three faiths are referred to in charitable passages of the Qur’an as the “people of the book”).

    An entertaining post. I loved the coffee bit, and the group photo proposal.

    I am you, and you are you, and they are you, and we’re all you together. Goo goo gu jube.

    Stephen

    December 18, 2006 at 9:30 am

  6. I just added a sitemeter because closing in on twenty thousand visitors. How many bloggers are in Berkeley?

    whig

    December 18, 2006 at 6:27 pm

  7. Well, if you do burst into flames, you can douse yourself with the spilled coffee you just happen to have lying around. Handily.

    glitterlessgold

    December 18, 2006 at 7:23 pm

  8. yeha i thought it was before common era as well… though i’m not sure why…

    sorry about ur coffee disaster…. :P

    and congrats on the hits , I know I tend to get my news from you,just cos u post about interesting stuff and I’ve found your views to be as unbiased as possible.. and your reflections on conservatives is possibly the kindest I’ve seen from a person from Berkley! :P

    Berkley rocks by the way! :D

    krispydixie

    December 19, 2006 at 9:25 am

  9. Oops, I forgot to point out that “BCE” = “Before Common Era” and “CE” equals “Common Era”. Thanks for the catch, krispydixie.

    Stephen

    December 19, 2006 at 3:35 pm


Leave a Reply

