Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

Finally, Giant Jumping Rats!

with 3 comments

giant-jumping-rat.jpg

Giant jumping rat, imagine one of these leaping out of your Christmas Tree!

At last, the long awaited post on giant jumping rats. Rats are everywhere, big rats, little rats, brown rats, white rats. Some rats are even cute (or have better PR,) an esteemed reader can watch the tree rats playing right outside his window! Does life get any better than that? And in other good news on the rat front, giant jumping rats (rabbit sized rats that can jump up to a metre in the air,) are not as endangered as was thought. Good news, if one is a giant jumping rat fan I suppose.

Intellectually at least I’m glad these acrobatic rodents are coming back from near extinction. I’m also glad they live on an island. I can just imagine having one of these bad boys leap onto my bed or the kitchen table. Fortunately, I am fully prepared should a giant jumping rat ever enter my domicile:

flyingcat.jpg
What no giant jumping rat wants to see while in mid leap.

In other cat news, my calico has figured out that space heaters are a good thing. I used to think she wasn’t particularly bright, now I realize she isn’t stupid, she has just developed laziness to a high art form. And in an animal that inspired the word catatonic, that’s an impressive feat. For example, she slept in the litter box for awhile, saved her that long walk to the kitchen. When her brother attacks her, she just rolls on her back and extends pointy things in all directions, very few calories are actually expended. She has only caught one thing in her life, a bird that quite literally flew into her mouth. And if she hadn’t been yawning at the time, even that would have been too much trouble.

As I have previously stated, I expect in another few generations calicoes won’t even have legs. Just plunk em down amidst the litter box, food/water bowls, and a space heater. Voila, your calico is set for life.

And in Iraq, attacks have reached record levels! Phew, I was afraid I wouldn’t have anything to blog about tomorrow. I apologize for the somewhat fluffy post today, I’m going to go back and respond to some of the thoughtful comments people have made on previous posts. Happy Effin Holidays everyone!

(The above rat image is claimed as Fair Use under US copyright law. Credit: Olivier Langrand/Conservation International. It is not being used for profit and is central to illustrating the post. “Flying Penny” is from Black Cat Kizzy and is public domain if not used for profit.)

Written by unitedcats

December 19, 2006 at 9:28 am

Posted in Cats, enviroment, Iraq, Science

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LOL @ the cat thing!

    is that a pic of ur calico?? :P

    KrispyDixie

    December 20, 2006 at 9:07 am

  2. oh just read ur disclaimer… :P

    KrispyDixie

    December 20, 2006 at 9:09 am

  3. I actually think i found some of these in my home. I caught some in a humane trap and they look exactly the same except the ones i caught had rounded shorter ears. Are there any domestically stateside?

    Brent

    July 5, 2008 at 6:56 pm


Leave a Reply

