Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

New Darkworld Format, Bush’s Surprise, Monks Gone Wild, Etc.

with 2 comments

Constantinople_sacked.jpg
Operation Iraqi Freedom 1204 version: Crusaders sack Constantinople.

After much thought and consideration (at least as much thought as I can spare between the Holidays and George Bush’s surprise announcement that he has finally noticed that things aren’t quite going according to plan in Iraq,) I am going to change the format of Doug’s Darkworld slightly. I will henceforth be posting daily posts where I cover various topical items in the news, and on irregular intervals (but still hopefully several times a week) I will post a column that focuses on one particular subject near and dear to me. This should allow me to both stay more current on the news, and the quality of my single subject posts will improve as I can edit them to my satisfaction before posting them. Any feedback, pro or con, on this change is appreciated.

I regard Bush’s announcement as being too little too late. The guy’s been standing in the rain for 3 1/2 years. It’s grown from a drizzle to a steady downpour with thunder and lightning on the horizon…and he finally says “You know, I think its starting to rain, maybe I should put on my hat.” I am not reassured, the situation has gone long past where passing out a few hats is going to make much of a difference. Coincidentally, the General in Command of US forces in the Middle east, has announced his retirement after criticizing Bush’s “Iraq surge” plan. I don’t think I’m going out on a limb to say nothing has changed, Bush continues to surround himself with yes-men, anyone who dares criticize or contradict him is not welcome. And by Bush I mean Bush and his Neocon inner circle.

I’ve recently been hearing claims that the internecine carnage in Iraq would have happened whether or not the USA invaded, the implication being that it’s not the USA’s fault. My first observation would be that Saddam put down the last Shiite revolt in a matter of weeks. More on point, could the current situation in Iraq have occurred under Saddam? Only if Saddam had woken up one morning and said: “I have an idea, fire the entire army, fire every policeman in the country, and distribute billions of dollars and huge amounts of weapons willy-nilly to anyone who wants them, paying particular attention to criminals and con-artists that fled or were exiled from Iraq.” I’m going out on a limb here, but I speculate that there’s not a snowflake’s chance in Hell that Saddam would ever have issued such orders. And if he had, the next day Iraqis would have woken up to the sight of soldiers putting black ribbons on his portraits and the sad announcement that Saddam had tripped getting out of bed and accidentally shot himself 107 times.

Am I implying that America’s occupation leaders are more incompetent than Saddam’s Generals? At least when it comes to running Iraq. Especially when one realizes that we have been hiring them back quietly for at least two years to help us run the show. I’m pretty sure that Hitler and Tojo’s generals weren’t rehired to run the occupations of their countries. I rest my case.

With much sadness I must report that major fighting has broken out in Somalia. Basically the Islamists gave the Ethiopians a deadline to leave Somalia, the Ethiopians declined to even admit they had troops in Somalia, and the Islamists are now attacking the Ethiopian troops that aren’t there. To my disgust, the western media is really getting into lock-step with the colonial era idea that the foreign created “government” in Baidoa is somehow the “legitimate” government of Somalia. There may have been some truth to that when there were no home grown Somali contenders, but it has been clear for a long time that the Islamists enjoy massive popular support. The west should just get out of the way and deal with reality, instead we get another war in the long running series of “colonialism is good for you, resitance is futile, you will be assimilated” wars. Will the Islamists and Somalia be assimilated by the Borg? Time will tell, but I wouldn’t count on it. The Borg are a bit overstretched lately.

In another sign that the End Times is approaching, rival groups of monks have clashed with each other in Greece. “Seven Injured as Monks Storm Monastery” is the headline. This suggests phalanxes of ladder carrying, chanting, steely eyed monks advancing through a deadly hail of hymnals; throwing their ladders against the walls where equally determined defenders boil huge vats of Holy Water to pour down on the attackers. Mel Gibson has already agreed to star in the film, it will be released next summer. The reality is more like a scuffle in a hallway, with several monks beaned by flying paperweights. The argument is basically about whether or not the Orthodox Church should forgive the Vatican for the Crusader sacking of Constantinople in 1204. And people try to tell me that Islam is mired in the past.

Tomorrow, I will cover recent developments in Iran, Palestine/Israel, and Korea. See, this is going to be great! People can get all their bad, depressing, gloomy news in one blog! Doug’s Darkworld can be the Hungarian suicide song of blogs, how’s that for a worthy goal. :)

(The above image pre-dates 1923 and is considered public domain under US copyright law. It is also claimed as Fair Use under same, it is not being used for profit and it is central to illustrating the post.)

Written by unitedcats

December 20, 2006 at 10:33 am

Posted in Bush, History, Iraq, Religion, War

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Doug,

    Totally hear you about the new format. The idea of staying current and posting daily, while wanting to write quality posts. I think it’s a great idea, your format. Something I’ve been trying to kind of do myself, but then the flu hits (but I think I’m pretty much out of it).

    And what a dead on observation about Iraq, re: firing of all the army..Kind of the first thing that went through our heads when it was happening, but then you forget. But it so so hits the spot. Thanks for reminding people.

    Dmitri

    Dmitri Marine

    December 21, 2006 at 12:23 am

  2. Hi Doug,

    Will be headed out tomorrow for the holidays so may be out of touch. Till then, have a very Merry Christmas!

    -Jack

    bereans

    December 21, 2006 at 11:27 am


Leave a Reply

