Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

Immortality, Canada is Melting, Cats

with 2 comments

historical_ambulance.jpg
Another blatant attempt to shoehorn a public domain image into my blog.

I am pleased to say that I have achieved immortality. OK, not quite there yet, but the sound of my voice has left the solar system already and is heading out into the universe. Forever. I think that’s cool, though it is sort of a guy thing I expect. I was interviewed briefly on CKUT radio yesterday, the audio of the interview can be heard here. All thanks to Dmitri Marine of Blogue North. Basically we discussed whether or not what is going on in Iraq is a civil war, and the possibility of the USA attacking Iran. The later I have discussed at length in here already, the former I will be posting more on shortly. Technically what is going on in Iraq is not a civil war, it’s worse than that.

No earthquakes in Berkeley today, not yet at least. However, speaking of earth changes, the Ayles Ice Shelf in the Canadian Arctic has broken off and floated away. Actually it happened about sixteen months ago and was only just discovered with satellite imagery. This is a dramatic and disturbing event, these ice shelves are thousands of years old so it’s definitely a sign of climate change. In fact the six large ice shelves in the Canadian Arctic are all 90% smaller than when they were discovered in 1906. Since the ice shelf was already floating, this won’t raise sea level any. The scary thing about collapsing ice shelves is that when when breaks up, open ocean replaces ice. And open ocean absorbs more sunlight than ice, which is very reflective. So not only is this a sign of global warming, it will actually increase the rate at which the globe is warming. This is called feedback and it’s one of the reasons some folks are more worried about global warming than others, there is the very real possibility that the process will accelerate as the Earth warms up. Yikes.

I came across an interesting article about truth, propaganda, the media, and all sorts of stuff. It covers a lot of ground, and points out the lies of the left as well as the Right, so I highly recommend: The Disrespect for Truth has Brought a New Dark Age. Hell, I always thought President Allende of Chile was popularly elected, apparently he was not quite the “man of the people murdered by military thugs” that I had thought, much more complicated than that. In any even the article touches upon a lot of what I have been saying for years. In the US at least news has simply become a product like everything else, and there is very little left of independent media where people can find out what is really going on. Will the rise of the blogosphere counteract this drift to media totalitarianism? Stay tuned.

In today’s cat news, a cat saves its family from a house fire. When the heroic cat noticed the house was on fire, it clawed its owner’s face to wake him. The family dog didn’t start barking till the fire trucks arrived. And that pretty much sums up my view of cats vs dogs. However, to be fair, early reports that the dog bit the fireman or actually started the fire while smoking in bed are not credible, so I won’t mention them here. My cats have never warned me of a fire, though they have warned me of Earthquakes. In fact every day they warn me of earthquakes, repeatedly. It’s not terribly helpful I must admit.

Speaking of cats, I am rushing SnowBee to the vet today. He is suffering from his wounds incurred in the climactic battle a few weeks back. Poor little guy can hardly walk. Updates to follow. :(

Written by unitedcats

December 29, 2006 at 1:56 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just wanted to say that I enjoy your blog. I have only one point of dispute: I much prefer dogs to cats (but I do like cats). I hope SnowBee is much better soon.

    tamino

    December 29, 2006 at 3:41 pm

  2. Thank you, yours looks interesting too. My “cats rule, dogs drool” comments are meant in jest. :)

    unitedcats

    December 29, 2006 at 6:35 pm


Leave a Reply

