Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

“It’s Hopeless. Utterly, Utterly Hopeless.”

with 6 comments

barbarella.jpg
Jane Fonda in her finest movie.

Bonus points for the person who can identify the above quote in the title without using the Internet. Every post I make reminds me of new things I want to blog about, then people complicate it all by leaving thoughtful, educated comments that make me re-examine my assumptions. A person could spend their entire life studying, and in the end they would know less than when they started. When I was a kid I had a dim inkling of how nice it would be if I could be a kid forever. The world was simple then. Still, being a grown-up has its advantages. I can eat hamburgers any time I want for example.

Finally, a break from all the nice sunny weather here in Berkeley. I finally get well enough to go outside and have some fun, and there’s water falling from the sky. My Guardian Angel has a perverse sense of humour I suppose. Oh well, I should stay inside and blog but I appear to have blogger’s block. Where’s my caffeinated doughnuts when I need them? I would have gone out to join the anti war demonstrations, but why get wet doing something that can’t possibly make a difference except to further polarize the country? And Jane Fonda put in an appearance I see, I actually went to a demonstration against her once. I do like one of her movies though.

That was back in the old days, when I was an unhappily married man. Now I’m an unhappily single man. At least I’m consistent. Moving right along, is there any exciting world news today? Not counting news that involves people blowing each other up, not really. The Canadian Navy won’t be going on NATO manoeuvres because they don’t have the money to buy the fuel to send their three ships. The manoeuvres in question are taking place in Canada, so this is going to be acutely embarrassing as the NATO ships steam out of port into the Atlantic. I assume the crews of the Canadian ships will hide below decks in shame. How the mighty have fallen, it was only recently that Canada was the envy of the world when resourceful Canadian sailors we able to repair their leaking submarine by timely use of a hockey stick.

Of course being sick for weeks, I got to spend a lot of time with my cats. I’m thinking of renaming them now: Ms. Shredder, The Yowler, and The Texas Hairball Depositor. It was like living in the brig on Noah’s Ark. And since it’s still raining, I’m still here. And if anyone thinks this was fun, my next blog is going to be about the Nazi, unpatriotic, anti-American, ungodly idea that criticism of the President and his policies is wrong. Plus why I think Jane Fonda should have been charged with treason. God I love free speech.

(The above image is claimed as Fair Use under US copyright law. It’s scaled down, it’s not being used for profit, and it is an historically important image.)

Written by unitedcats

January 27, 2007 at 11:12 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are a true humorist and I enjoy your blog very much.
    I like your cats new names, :)

    madmouser

    January 28, 2007 at 9:46 am

  2. >>A person could spend their entire life studying, and in the end they would know less than when they started.

    “The more you see, the less you know / The less you find out as you go on…”

    They haven’t outlawed hamburgers in Berkeley yet? I always have liked your town.

    jmoney

    January 28, 2007 at 6:19 pm

  3. Oh, gosh! I apologize for not closing my italics tag! Sorry!

    jmoney

    January 28, 2007 at 6:20 pm

  4. Doug,

    The psalmist said,

    “Ecclesiastes 1:18 For in much wisdom [is] much grief: and he that increaseth knowledge increaseth sorrow.”

    Take comfort in knowing that it will never get much better–unless we climb under a rock :)

    -j

    bereans

    January 29, 2007 at 9:13 am

  5. I knw where this is frm!!! It is from the simpsons when sideshow bob is trying to escape from his brother in the dam and lisa says ‘ its hopeless. utterly utterly hopeless.’ and then sideshow bob says it too or something..it is!!! i swear it is!!

    Natuia Whanua

    November 26, 2007 at 11:09 pm

  6. LOL Good job, yes, that is exactly correct. :0)

    unitedcats

    November 26, 2007 at 11:44 pm


Leave a Reply

