Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

Coughing Politely

with 2 comments

brussel_sprout.jpg
Another universal mystery, what was God thinking when he invented these?

I’m almost over being sick, the locals are now referring to it as the terminator cold. No kidding. On the plus side, I can now toss a cough drop into the air, tear its wrapper off with my teeth, pop it in my mouth, and spit the wrapper into a trash can in one fluid eel like motion. It’s amazing what one can get good at if one practises long enough. Gets me stares in the streets, and in Berkeley that’s hard to do. That’s why I live here, I blend in. Actually, I manage to blend in just about everywhere except yuppie territory. With some reptilian sixth sense they can tell I am the enemy, the narrowed eyes and subdued hissing are very disconcerting. I don’t travel to yuppie venues if I can possibly avoid it, though I don’t judge them. Like mosquitoes and brussel sprouts, I’m sure yuppies fit in God’s plan somewhere.

The world. Sigh. All the sabre rattling about Iran is getting nerve wracking. So many lies are being spread it’s beyond ridiculous. The similarity to the run up to the invasion of Iraq is uncanny. And I feel just as hopeless, the people who think Iran is the font of all evil aren’t going to be dissuaded by facts and logic, they believe what Bush is telling them and that’s that. For the record though I will try to set one thing straight, Ahmadinejad did not say Israel should be wiped off the map, he said “The regime occupying Jerusalem must vanish from the page of time.” As he has clarified many times, he was talking about regime change. And frankly, I agree, the sooner Israel lives up to the true spirit of Judaism, the better off everyone in the middle east will be. And yes, what Israel is doing in Palestine is apartheid, or worse.

As well, I’ve been annoyed lately by people listing all the horrific things that will happen if the USA pulls out of Iraq. Oddly enough, these are the very same people who confidently predicted that all sorts of wonderful things would happen when we invaded Iraq. Hmm. On the one hand, I have to admire people who can be so completely utterly wrong in their predictions, yet like the energizer bunny, they just keep going making new predictions. Oh, wait, why the hell would I admire people who have not only been consistently wrong, their silly predictions have gotten us into a horrible war that grows worse every day? On the other hand, I think that since these people have been so consistently wrong, their dire pronouncements about withdrawing from Iraq are all the proof we need that it’s a good idea. I don’t know what will happen if we pull out of Iraq, but I know that of things turn out OK the neocon war mongers are going to have a lot of explaining to do. I suspect that’s the thing that frightens them most about the idea of withdrawal, it’s not like they give a rat’s ass about the people of Iraq, that’s for damn sure.

Snarl. I guess I’m in a bad mood because I see both terrible war and terrible human caused natural disaster looming on the horizon. And looming is the word. I hope I’m wrong about war with Iran and global warming, but both seem to be inexorably tracking toward a conclusion that no one is going to be happy about. Maybe we will get lucky and the nuclear winter triggered by war with Iran will cancel out global warming, how’s that for optimism? Tomorrow I will blog about less controversial topics…Walmart and the stock market.

(The above image is claimed as Fair Use under US copyright law. It is not being used for profit. Heck, I don’t know that brussel sprouts have any known use.)

Written by unitedcats

February 3, 2007 at 2:52 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Funny article. Actually, not funny. Poignantly true. Nice blog you have here. Its not often one comes across insightful, intelligent commentary very much anymore anyways.

    Here’s to a better world, on a Saturday evening.

    neurojava

    February 3, 2007 at 8:03 pm

  2. One reason brussel sprouts look so weird is because God didn’t make them, humans did. (This is perhaps a very telling point in itself…)

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brassica_oleracea

    A hearty wild cabbage from England has been bred for thousands of years to make cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower and yes the noble brussel sprout. When you look at it again it makes sense that He wouldn’t have made something quite like that…

    Your blog is fun to read, even if the subject matter isn’t always all smiles!

    Vince

    February 4, 2007 at 2:50 am


Leave a Reply

