Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

Friday’s Feline Follies

with 2 comments

time_machine.jpg
Turns out this is impossible, who knew?

A strange new cat wandered onto my porch yesterday. My cats went ballistic, and accused the intruder of being an axe murdering, sheep stealing mutant. The intruder utterly ignored them, lolling around in the sun purring as if he owned the place. He was either the bravest cat I’ve ever seen, or was utterly inexperienced in the ways of cats. I had to interpose a laundry basket on several occasions to physically prevent my snarling hissing little darlings from launching preemptive strikes. It’s like having two year olds that never grow up. Sigh.

I see from various comments that I need to run another global warming post. First though I am going to see Al Gore’s movie. I suspect that I will find the same fault with it as I do with Michael Moore’s work: Preaching to the choir. IE I will agree with a lot of it, but find the arguments he uses very annoying. We’ll see though, now that I have a DVD player and can watch movies while I continue to work on my laptop, there is no more excuse. Heck, I rented and watched “V for Vendetta” the other day. Mildly amusing in the mild sense of the word, I’m basically bored with movies that revolve around Nazi analogies. Hitler is dead and he’s not coming back, and if my studies of history show me anything, it’s that every new despot has a completely new style. Humans are particularly inventive when it comes to atrocities and mistreatment of their fellow humans. We’ve had a lot of practice.

Moving right along, this is Friday, the one day a week I try not to discuss humanity’s dark side. So here, for the esteemed reader’s enlightenment and edification, are some other stories and news:

Time Travel Impossible: Well, poot! Some theorists are now saying that time travel is impossible. My last chance to fix those college transcripts or buy Apple stock. Granted it’s never looked terribly promising, but still, a man can hope, can’t he? Now all I have to fall back on are my lottery tickets and my faint hope that the entire Bush regime will turn out to be a bad dream.

Chinese Moon Probe: China will launch its first lunar probe within a year. They actually plan to put a man on the Moon within fifteen years. Speaking of the Moon, those who missed the eclipse can see a nice picture of it here. And speaking of Chinese space technology, this is easily the most threatening weapons program on the planet. The Chinese could use this technology to deliver WMDs to the USA in any number of almost undetectable ways. And people are worried about Iran building a crude fifties era bomb they would have to Fedex to America?

Reflecting rats: Rats have the ability to think about their own knowledge. IE in lab tests rats apparently can decide whether or not to take a test depending on how difficult they think it will be. This is the first time a non primate has been shown to have this ability. I find this particularly interesting in that in other experiments some rats have shown the ability to avoid poisoned food even if they couldn’t taste or smell the poison. Now we know how, some rats were smart enough to think “hmm, this looks suspicious to me, better not take a chance.”

Martian Springs: Bad news everyone, scientists are now thinking that Mars did not once have seas as had recently been thought. The evidence for water recently discovered on Mars is better explained by springs and extensive ground water, instead of large shallow sea. Sigh. This is a double disappointment of course, now not only can’t I travel back in time, even if I could I couldn’t go surfing on Mars.

Spinning Asteroids: Sunlight makes asteroids spin. Granted, this is not terribly practical news, and it has been suspected for a long time. It just shows our solar system is ever more dynamic than we had imagined. In fact this process may force some asteroids to spin so fast that they fly apart! Whee!

OK, wasn’t that a fun Friday? I tried to be positive, but it is clear I failed. Dreams of time travel shattered, new worries about Chinese bombs from space and rats underfoot plotting world domination. Oh well, I don’t think too many people come here for light entertainment. And speaking of spinning, I’ve go to spin my way to work. Have a great weekend everyone!

(The above image of the time travelling Delorean is claimed as Fair Use under US copyright law. It is not being used for profit, it is central to illustrating the post, and it is an historically important image.)

Written by unitedcats

March 9, 2007 at 11:22 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Doug!

    Happy Friday to you.

    Watched former Vice President Gore’s movie. The sad thing about it is that it may be more of an insult to the intelligence of those who believe in man-made global warming than anything. I know for a fact that you could have done much better, and Michael Moore is probably scratching his head trying to figure out how that “Inconvenient Truth” rises to the level of “Bowling for Columbine” (a documentary that I don’t particularly agree with, but found entertaining, informative and enjoyable nonetheless). What would be interesting for me to see is an honest critique of the film from someone who believes in mm-global warming. Would be interested in your review if you have time to share that with us.

    Have a blessed weekend, friend.

    -Jack

    bereans

    March 9, 2007 at 11:40 am

  2. Doug
    i suspect your cats were in cohoots with your interloper – all watching you entertain them with the basket tricks LOL

    Cat are truly the world’s superior beings.

    Peace, Hugs and Purrrrrrrrs :-)

    PS – don’t worry about no time travel – as I have told you – personally I refuse to accept the futile concept of time; so time travel is a moot point , relatively speaking….

    Carolyn Rose Goyda

    March 9, 2007 at 5:31 pm


Leave a Reply

