Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

I like being right…

with 2 comments

 

fallen-tree.jpg

Well, I may be a gentleman and a scallop most of the time, nonetheless I’m human enough to be pleased when “I told you so…” situations arise. (Erm, assuming I’m the one saying it.) Though of course I almost never actually say it, because there’s usually no need.

So this morning a client of many years calls up and says: “You know that tree you have been telling me to cut down because it was going to fall on the neighbour’s house..” Well, yes, I do, and yes…it did. No one hurt, I’m on my way to assess the damage now, but certainly is nice in a perverse sort of way that a calamity I predicted did indeed come to pass. And it certainly makes me look good.

So with any luck maybe later today I’ll get a call from a certain president…”You know about that invasion you said was a really stupid idea…”

(The above image is claimed as Fair Use under US copyright law. It is not being used for profit and it is central to illustrating the post. And because of a stupid tree, I will have to post tomorrow about the battle raging in Somalia. Something else I successfully predicted, sigh.)

Written by unitedcats

March 22, 2007 at 9:00 am

Posted in Berkeley, Bush, enviroment

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s called schadenfreude, and when there is no harm, ah, what greater pleasure.

    Zo

    March 22, 2007 at 9:01 pm

  2. Good luck with that 2nd call, lol

    elronsteele

    March 23, 2007 at 6:12 am


Leave a Reply

