Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

Through Thick and Thin, April 14th 2007

with 3 comments

hallucigenia.jpg
The mysterious hallucigenia…for Daphny.

Just a few random notes about things I should blog about at greater length, but don’t have the time to prepare individual blogs. I guess I could be like many other bloggers and fire off a quick post every time something caught my eye in the news. Silly as it is, I take pride in preparing at least somewhat well thought out posts. Thought is pretty much at a premium these days, and logic is essentially nowhere to be found. If we actually taught basic logic in the schools the country would be better off, most people couldn’t construct a logical argument to save their lives. People’s ability to recognize false arguments appears to be even more rudimentary. And now that I’ve insulted just about everyone on the planet, I’ll carry on and see if I can’t insult the rest.

Imus. Not really much to say here. His bosses should have fired him right away, or stuck to their guns. Either would have been acceptable, I know people who have been fired for saying less objectionable things; but a warning and a few days loss of pay would have been fine too, a single incident of anything is just that, a single incident. However, by firing him after two weeks of “controversy” all his bosses did was empower the opportunistic activist types that have so come to dominate the public debate in the US. Good going guys, the way the situation was handled was the worst possible thing for Imus, the Republic, and the athletes. Welcome to modern America.

Iraq. Well, it’s basically over. I suspect we will be driven out of Iraq sometime in the next year, Bush’s plan to hang on until the US election so he can pass his whole sorry mess off on the next administration is not going to work. A few hundred thousand troops cannot rule a country the size of Iraq without the help of at least a sizable minority of the locals. At this point the USA doesn’t appear to have any friends in Iraq and the insurgents are striking at will. It’s such a shame, the USA still has options, some sort of partition of the country is one possibility. However Bush has done nothing for years, he seems unable to grasp that his glorious “Mission Accomplished” didn’t work out as fantasized, and has spent over three years doing nothing while the Iraq spiralled out of our control.

Misogyny. Check out How the Web Became a Sexist’s Paradise. I did an informal poll of my female friends on line, and many of them have indeed received death threats, rape threats, and rape to death threats. Some of them thought I was joking when I asked if they had received threats on line. I would say that most men don’t engage in this sort of behaviour, but that’s hardly a helpful observation. How we came to this juncture after the promise of the civil rights movement and the feminist movement of the sixties is a mystery to me, but I will be speculating more at some point.

Well, three controversial subjects is enough for one morning. I have a big day ahead of me which mostly involves cleaning my apartment, aren’t I lucky? I’d get upset at the slob who left it such a mess in the first place, but I do enough self flagellating as it is. My cats are fine and really trying to think up something amusing to say or do to end this post with, but alas they have failed me this day.

(The above hallucigenia image is claimed as Fair Use under US copyright law. It is not being used for profit, and I think it is being used within the guidelines of the site where I found it: Morning Earth. Hallucigenia is one of the most mysterious fossils ever discovered and at some time I will be posting more about it.)

Written by unitedcats

April 15, 2007 at 9:17 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Doug, this is the chronology of the Imus firing. It didn’t take them two weeks to fire him, he was suspended first but fired before he returned.

    whig

    April 15, 2007 at 8:28 pm

  2. Mea culpa, thanks for posting. I just can’t be bothered to really look into the details of this case because I think it got overblown by the media and anything I could say, someone else would say better. And I’m just in general disgusted with some of what passes for public discourse today in much of media and entertainment. Imus’s remark was mean spirited and unfunny, but it’s the tip of the iceberg.

    But now that I’ve read a bit more, I wish he had been fired instantly, and I really have no problem him being fired eventually, you have to watch your mouth when you are on the job. At the very least his remark was going to cost his bosses a pile of money, that’s sufficient cause to fire anyone. But if they had kept him on, it’s the bosses decision, not Al Sharpton’s or anyone else’s. Shame on everyone who used this incident to get publicity or influence, that was a worse slur on the fine athletes than the original slur.

    See, I can change my opinion when exposed to new information/argument. Not insane yet. :)

    unitedcats

    April 15, 2007 at 8:47 pm

  3. Thanks Doug. I have not much to say about the people who get out in front of every parade. The media would like us to choose sides between Don Imus and those who acted as unappointed spokespeople for the young women, but this is not about anyone but Don’s own bad behavior. I will not say it was a worse slur, it is simply of no consequence to the issue in my opinion.

    I respect your willingness to change your mind when presented with new information or perspective. I recall you’ve done so in the past as well. I’m also capable of being mistaken, everyone is. Some of us just don’t like to admit it.

    whig

    April 16, 2007 at 7:58 am


Leave a Reply

