Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

Through Thick and Thin: April 16 2007, and Prayers for Virginia

with one comment

dead_bee.jpg
Did your cell phone kill this bee?

Once again I have dozens of partly written blogs, but none seems to fit my mood today. The problem is mostly that when I start working on a single topic post, I really want it to be up to my personal standards. I know, blogs are typically pretty off the cuff, especially ones that try to stay up with current events. In other words, once again my readers are being subjected to another “thick and Thin” blog. Don’t worry though, my “Are you qualified to use WW2 analogies test” is almost ready to go, I expect to lose all but one or two readers after that, because I’m getting tired of people who wouldn’t dream of telling a surgeon how to do their job thinking that their equally uninformed opinions about history and war have merit. I may not be an expert on every topic I discuss, but I at least try to do background research instead of just reading the sites that reinforce what I already think. I have doubts about my beliefs and opinions and I’m capable of changing my mind, which appears to be characteristics I share with very few. I can only guess that most people’s egos are so interlaced their world view that the they cannot stomach the idea of changing their opinion. There’s probably been research into this, but I have too many irons in the fire as it is. Sigh.

There’s always news in Iraq. The Osprey, a hybrid helicopter/aircraft is going to be sent to Iraq. Gotta love it, possibly the stupidest piece of military hardware in history is going to be sent to possibly the stupidest war in history. If you thought losing seven million dollar tanks to insurgents with home made weapons was fun, just wait, we will get to lose 80 million dollar aircraft to same. I may blog about the Osprey at some point, but it should be obvious that using an eighty million dollar machine to drop a handful of soldiers into the front line may not be the wisest use of our tax dollars. It would probably be cheaper to kill insurgents by bombing them with pallets of cash. On the plus side, the Osprey deployment is not scheduled until September, and there’s every chance we will be out of Iraq by then.

I find it both hysterical and sad that Bush is having trouble finding someone to fill the new position of “War Czar.” As has been pointed out, we already have a War Czar. The commander-in-chief, also known by the more common title: President of the United States. The creation of this “new position” is one of the most blatant attempts to pass the buck in history, it’s no surprise that no one wants a job whose chief function is the take the blame when Bush’s war in Iraq comes to its disastrous conclusion. Maybe Bush could appoint his secretary?

In insect news (yes, a new feature on Doug’s Darkworld) some research has indicated that honey bees are being killed by cell phones. It’s pretty preliminary research, and so far indicates that it’s a bad idea to put a cordless phone base station in a beehive. I suspect it won’t pan out, but a lot of people laughed when it came out that hairspray was contributing to the destruction of the ozone layer. And something is apparently killing honeybees in large numbers, the so called CCD (colony collapse disorder) appears to have spread to Europe now. Still, it’s a situation where very little is known, some even dispute if there is such a thing as CCD, so no need to hoard honey just yet.

And in breaking news, there has been a terrible school shooting at a school in Virginia, at least 22 dead. I have nothing to say at the moment except that my prayers go out for all those touched by this tragedy. This is the worst mass murder at a US University since Tex Watson killed 15 people in the University of Texas Tower Shooting in 1966. Watching the news I am overcome with grief and rage, so I’m going to have to stop writing now.

(The above image is claimed as Fair Use under US copyright law. It is not being used for profit and is central to illustrating the post. Image credit: Kokueisakana)

Written by unitedcats

April 16, 2007 at 10:21 am

Posted in Bush, Crime, Iraq, Politics, Science, War

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Doug!

    A fix for your dilemma?

    I largely blog for myself. It is a way I can archive and organize my thoughts and/or articles that I find of interest. (I speak of the News Snipet, not the Berean–it was created as a daily devotional site for my students).

    Since I have amazingly low standards for myself, it doesn’t take much to put out a thought and a link. Also, since I have a readership of about 5 people, its not like I’m going to change the world–or for that matter anyone’s mind, so it doesn’t matter too much if my articles don’t quite reach the standard of say, Bill Buckley or John Leo.

    Don’t be too hard on yourself! Like I always said about the classroom, its the ensuing discussion, not the lecture that makes for learning and personal growth. Just get those thoughts out to us so we can all chew on them together!!

    :)

    -Jack

    P.S. Doug, your posts are always thought provoking and worth the read. They get us talking.

    BTW, talk about a truly global threat–we should be putting the research time and dollars into the bee dilemma. Without those little guys, we won’t be around in a 100 years to enjoy the unseasonably balmy weather!

    bereans

    April 16, 2007 at 12:12 pm


Leave a Reply

