Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

Am I dreaming?

with 3 comments

cat_on_toilet.jpg
Oh dear.

So I stumble into my bathroom this morning and what do I see, my orange stripy cat is perched on the toilet taking a whiz. He glares at me like “Hey, can’t a guy get a bit of privacy around here?” For a moment I wondered if I was still asleep and dreaming, I certainly never taught him to use the toilet. I guess I’m glad he figured this out, it will reduce the litter box maintenance, but it definitely has a potential downside. Does this mean that when I stumble to the bathroom at three in the morning, I might find myself waiting in line behind my cats? Yikes.

The Virginia Tech massacre is still completely dominating the news in the USA. Herd journalism at its worst. It’s sad, but innocent people are murdered every day in the USA and the vast majority of whom are lucky to get a mention in the local paper. So it bugs me that if people die in some spectacular way, the nation mourns for them, if they get killed at an ATM hold-up, no one knows their name. I’m pretty sure the friends and families in both instances are equally traumatized.

And I’m saddened that people didn’t waste any time trying to score political points, the White House for example issued an anti gun control message within hours from what I can tell. I thought it was interesting that the White House stated that there is no way to stop this sort of thing. Yet somehow we are going to rid the world of terrorism and tyranny? Oh well, I guess I should be grateful they didn’t launch a war on Korean immigrants or some such in response. Though it’s not over yet, we may still get a “Department of Campus Security.” Adding a another layer of bureaucracy is a time honoured way for governments to capitalize on tragedies like this.

Sigh, and in other bad news the violence in Iraq continues. Just as predicted by me, the “surge” has resulted in higher American losses with little or no actual gains in security. The surge was just another desperate attempt to “do something” about the mess we made in Iraq. Bush and his supporters have never grasped that reshaping reality into your desired image is infinitely more difficult than it seems. And that if one undertakes these efforts without a really deep understanding of what one is doing, the results are not going to be what is expected. Bush and his ilk don’t even try to understand the liberals in their own country, the idea that they understand what’s going on in a deeply fractured and troubled land like Iraq would be laughable if it wasn’t such a bloody mess.

In other news that is either bad or ridiculous, two men have been arrested in the UK for “piggy backing,” that is using a wireless node without permission. Unless they were using it for illicit purposes, hacked into it, or were causing harm to the owner of the node; it sure seems ridiculous to me. It’s easy enough to password protect a wireless connection, people that are worried about unauthorized use of their node should do so. I suppose I am biased though, since I am using a neighbour’s node without permission. On the other hand, the unsecured node is named “Hello Neighbor,” so it’s a good bet they are OK with people using it. Heck, if I knew whose node it was, I’d offer to help pay too.

Hmm, my calico overheated her brain in the sun and was running around wildly quacking like a duck, and she just ran full tilt into a closed door. She looks a little stunned, but she always looks a little stunned. I’m sorry to say she’s a few candies shy of a pinata, but we love her anywise. Have a great day everyone, if you see a quacking calico running straight at you, step aside!

(The above image is claimed as Fair Use under US copyright law. It is not being used for profit and is central to illustrating the post. Credit: Cheekies.com)

Written by unitedcats

April 18, 2007 at 8:23 am

Posted in Berkeley, Bush, Cats, Crime, Iraq, War

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Right on, Doug.

    -Jack

    bereans

    April 18, 2007 at 8:52 am

  2. I am using a neighbour’s node without permission.

    That’s interesting … you’re so scrupulous about copyright on the photos you post.

    Stephen

    April 18, 2007 at 12:08 pm

  3. In my state, the local news channel is pretty good at reporting names. I think they really try their best, even though not much happens in the state where I live, which is good.

    I support gun control. I really think that security should be stepped up in campuses. It can’t be as open as it once was. Risking people’s safety by not beefing up security, is not the way to go. Increasingly, crime is increasing. Just in 2006 there were five reported shootings:Oct. 2, 2006: A 32-year-old gunman enters an Amish schoolhouse in Nickel Mines, Pa., and holds 10 girls hostage before shooting them. Five girls are killed, and five more wounded. The gunman also kills himself.Sept. 13, 2006: Kimveer Gill, 25, opens fire at Dawson College in Montreal, killing one woman and injuring 20 people.Aug. 30, 2006: 19-year-old man in Hillsborough, N.C., kills father, then opens fire at Orange High School, wounding two students before surrendering to police.
    March 14, 2006: 14-year-old boy in Reno, Nev., bring’s father’s revolver to Pine Middle School and wounds two classmates.Jan. 13, 2006: 15-year-old boy at Milwee Middle School in Longwood, Fla., holds class hostage at gunpoint before being fatally shot by police. It is later learned his weapon was a pellet gun.

    On a separate note, I think that there’s this negative view of being seen as liberal. But being liberal doesn’t necessarily mean you’re far left – you’re a Libertarian or an Anarchist.

    lightcontrast

    April 18, 2007 at 1:14 pm


Leave a Reply

