Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

Oh. My. God.

with 4 comments

oh_my_god.jpg

Well, I was going to blog about gun control, and then I turned on the TV.

The Virginia Tech killer mailed tapes of himself to NBC after the first two murders.

The media is going ballistic. My little brain is painfully boggled.

This is the first time since 911 when I have turned on the TV and had a sense of unreality. For the first few minutes of 911 coverage I thought, “this is some war of the worlds thing, right? This can’t be real!”

And when I saw the image above and heard this latest news, my first thought was…are we sure this whole massacre wasn’t staged by NBC? Are we sure this isn’t some ill conceived preview for some new movie or reality show? Like the lighted cartoons that triggered a terrorist scare in Boston?

Sadly, I fear not. Well, media and life meet. There’s certainly been plenty of movies with this kind of diabolical subplot, it had to happen sooner or later.

Turns out the killer was a certified fucking nutbar by the way. We kinda figured that.

The gun control post will come later. My philosophy on gun control is simple:

  • Guns don’t kill people.
  • People don’t kill people.
  • Guns in the hands of the wrong people kill people!

Go figure.

I hope and pray some good comes out of this.

(The above NBC image is claimed as Fair Use under US copyright law. It is not being used for profit, it is central to the topic of the post, and it is an historically important image.)

Written by unitedcats

April 18, 2007 at 6:37 pm

Posted in Crime, Philosophy

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My thoughts are with the victims of the massacre and I’m looking forward to your post on gun control. It should be interesting :)

    theboinq

    April 19, 2007 at 4:08 am

  2. Hi Doug,

    I blogged in response to Michael Daly’s article, “Yes, Virginia, guns kill innocents”

    Here is the link to Michael’s article:

    http://www.nydailynews.com/news/crime_file/2007/04/17/2007-04-17_yes_virginia_guns_kill_innocents-2.html

    My response in a nutshell:

    As a child my young first love was struck by a drunk driver and killed. For the next 20 years I blamed alcohol for her death. Even at the young age of 12 years old, I was probably closer than the average left-wing fringe nut who would have blamed the car for her death.

    Following this line of logic, lets make some more headlines like Mr. Daly’s:

    Yes, Virginia, cars kill innocents

    Yes, Virginia, alcohol kills innocents

    Yes, Virginia, student visa’s for South Koreans kill innocents

    Yes, Virginia, video games kill innocents

    Yes, Virginia, violent movies kill innocents

    Of course I could have gone on for days…

    I also pointed out for those who oppose President Bus in the Iraq war (if they bought into Daly’s reasoning):

    “BTW, President Bush is accused of killing innocents–he doesn’t do that! Its the rifles in the hands of the soldiers or the missles or the tanks, or the…”

    We truly live in Superman’s Bizzaro World…

    -Jack

    bereans

    April 19, 2007 at 6:58 am

  3. Guns in the hands of the wrong people kill people. OK, can’t argue with that.

    The trouble is, the wrong people are always out there. Always.

    So, just maybe, it’s a good idea to make it hard for the wrong people to get guns? OK, some of the non-wrong people will find it hard to get guns, too. I can live with that.

    Stephen

    April 19, 2007 at 10:38 am

  4. this batshit insane fucking prick has nothing in the hands of skeletor

    you think a borderline schitzophrenic faggot can inflict fear in the almighty power of daphny?

    get real. im hungry

    daphny

    April 27, 2007 at 11:12 am


Leave a Reply

