Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

Are there cats in heaven?

with 8 comments

cat_trees_bear.jpg

There have been cats in the news a lot lately, so I thought I’d take a break from the increasingly depressing headlines and cover a few cat stories. Granted not everyone likes cats, but no one is perfect. They are far more evolved than humans in almost every respect, the only thing we have going for us is the swelling at the end of our spinal cord. And the jury is still out on whether or not that is a good thing.

First a story of cat heroism by a fearless orange tabby. (My orange tabby assures me that all orange tabbies are fearless.) Their bright colour astounds and blinds their enemies, I mean, how many orange animals are there? Besides tigers, who are just basically overgrown orange tabbies? In the picture above, Jack, a cat in New Jersey, twice treed a black bear that made the mistake of entering his yard. The bear was only able to escape after his people locked Jack in the house. OK, a case can be made that orange tabbies aren’t fearless, they are stupid. I mean, a bear? My black cat attacks dogs, but I think he would be bright enough not to chase a bear. I hope. I think Jack is lucky he didn’t get to prematurely investigate the cats in heaven issue.

Next an interesting story out of Rhode Island, USA, where a cat named Oscar can apparently tell when a patient in a nursing home is going to die. Normally he isn’t the friendliest cat, but a few hours before their death he curls up with the soon to be deceased. While this is comforting to some, some families have asked that the cat be removed so they can spend the last hours alone with their loved one. Oscar apparently paces the hall outside the door meowing in protest when this happens. While he is not always accurate, he has been right 25 times so far. So much so that staff of the nursing home calls families when Oscar curls up with their relative.

Is Oscar psychic? Can he predict the future? Doubtful. There is probably a biochemical explanation, IE people start to smell different as their body starts to shut down. Or there is some other subtle cue he is picking up on. While of interest, this is going to be something that is tough to study in the lab, so it’s unlikely that this story will be anything but a curiosity. Still, who knows, if we could tell when someone was starting to die, maybe they could be saved? It certainly presents some intriguing possibilities, and shows that their is much still to learn about how the world works.

This reminds me of a similar story a few years back. An old fellow in a nursing home was adopted by a kitten, who lived with him for two years, hardly ever leaving his side. They were the best of buds, then the guy died, his kitty curled up beside him. Shortly thereafter, the attending family realized that the kitty had also died. Coincidence? Certainly an amazing one if so, and a sad but touching story in any event. I like to think that our animal friends will join us in heaven. It wouldn’t be heaven if they didn’t, would it?

Are there animals in heaven? Beats me. I hope I find out some day, I don’t want to spend eternity with the bad Lassie, you know, the one that bit Timmy. Though I suppose if one was in the bad place and there were bad animals there, it would be comforting to know that the good cats were up in Heaven. Soiling God’s potted plants when he wasn’t looking. Fertilizing plants is a good thing, right? By that standard, all calicos go to heaven.

(The above image is claimed as Fair Use under US copyright law. It is not being used for profit and is central to illustrating the post. And yes, the bad Lassie joke was ripped off from the Simpsons. Image credit: AP)

Written by unitedcats

July 27, 2007 at 7:12 am

Posted in Cats, Philosophy, Religion

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. cats are cool because they are wonderfully unpredictable… my first cat, well he still fertilizing
    my parents cherry tree today! :/

    Cafe dog

    July 27, 2007 at 4:02 pm

  2. I love my cats! I have two : Oreo and Onyx. Onyx is black, like the stone, and Oreo is black and white! I love them to death! And Oreo, he is a HOG!!

    megandecembear29

    November 30, 2008 at 1:50 pm

  3. I can reassure you that they ARE in Heaven. I had an NDE and met all of mine (46 of them!). Best wishes to you – see you ‘up there’ someday – you can come and visit the kitties then, being as we can’t meet up here. Enjoy your life.

    TopBlue-BirdKat

    March 30, 2009 at 9:54 pm

  4. I have loved and lost over many years -Mischief-Smokey-Sandy-Benjamin-Nellie-Sam-George-Wilfed-Oliver-Archie and Hannah -all deeply loved and never forgottemay the good lord bless you all and I trust you are now in his care-love you always and forever – patricia.

    patricia wheeler

    April 4, 2010 at 3:57 pm

  5. I have a cat that I adopted, or should we say he adopted me. His name is Precious, and his name fits him so well. It was given to him by my mom who has passed away. He is so much a part of my life that I find myself praying to God (and his son Jesus) to please allow me to be with him when he calls me. He is such a wondeful cat.

    Greg Keiser

    July 27, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    • Yeah, I had a cat like that, my dear departed Binky. She’s been gone over a year and I still can’t bring myself to write her eulogy. If she’s not waiting for me on the other side, well, I’m going to be disappointed.
      — Doug

      unitedcats

      July 27, 2010 at 7:36 pm

  6. I have my Buddy,Penny and Munchy up in heaven waiting for me one day we will be together again I hope!It keeps me strong to believe that they will be up there with my son waiting for me oneday.

    michele

    January 4, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    • I’m not even a believer, but I comfort myself with similar thoughts sometimes. God Bless! —Doug

      Doug

      January 5, 2012 at 9:45 am


Leave a Reply

