Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

Proud to be called a liberal parasite, when people call me names it means they can’t find fault with my logic. :)

with one comment

giant_lego.jpg

I revised the comment policy yet once again. Not much of a revision though, just stopped moderating to encourage discussion. I wish wordpress had a way to limit comment length, but it doesn’t. So I’m just asking people to keep comments to a reasonable length, if it’s as long as the post, it’s probably too long. I think I’ve only deleted six posts since I started this madness I call Doug’s Darkworld, and only four because they were too long. So it’s not like it’s been a big problem.

OK, since I wrote the preceding last night the total is now seven, the following comment was just left on my Dark Days post:

I have a solution. Volunteer as a human shield. That should be the end of your depression and America will have one less liberal parasite sucking it’s [sic] soul dry. A win-win for all.

Obviously “liberal parasite” is an ad hominen attack so I couldn’t approve the comment. I’m not sure why some people are so disapproving of liberal ideas like freedom of speech, but there you have it. Fortunately the poster is still free to leave America and move to a country where liberal values are completely outlawed, like say Iran or North Korea. Hopefully the poster will do so and report back, I would love to hear a first hand account of what life is like in a country that stamps out any vestige of liberal thinking. I’m thinking it might give us all a new appreciation of liberal values. That so few professed liberal haters chose to do so makes me believe that America is still a great country.

Moving right along, as always I have a bunch of half written posts. And stuff just keeps happening in the news. So a few random observations about various news items that I don’t have time to write whole posts about…

The Mine Disaster. I hope they find the guys alive but its not looking good. I looked into US mine safety after the ghastly case a few years back in Virginia where they announced they had found the trapped miners alive and then later it turned out it was all a terrible misunderstanding and all but one were dead. It turns out that mine safety in the US is pretty much the same as almost any metric one wants to look at. As far as the first world goes, the USA is dead last when it comes to mine safety. One is definitely safer being a miner in Australia or France, thought not by an alarming margin. However, being an American miner is much safer than being a Chinese, Russian, or other second/third world miner.

The Mars rovers are looking a little better as the near global dust storm on Mars lets up a bit. Being smothered in frozen dust would have been a terribly undignified end to a mission that has exceeded all expectations in its discoveries.

There’s been some interesting fossil discoveries in the human lineage. Some suggest it may upset the current best guess as to our actual lineage, but it’s too early to tell. And it doesn’t really matter in some senses, we are what we are no matter what ape we evolved out of. And if someone finds the Ark on mount Ararat, science will deal with that too, it’s a very flexible way of looking at the world. When scientists turn out to be wrong about stuff, why, they ultimately just learn more about how the world works. It’s too bad politics doesn’t work that way, maybe we need to elect more scientists?

Giant Lego Man Found in Dutch Sea. The title pretty much is the story. I’m thinking this has to be some sort of alien Trojan horse, and we will rue the day it was fished from the sea. Have a great weekend everyone.

(The above image is claimed as Fair Use under US copyright law. It is not being used for profit and it is central to illustrating the post. Credit: REUTERS/Marco de Swart)

Written by unitedcats

August 10, 2007 at 8:27 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Doug Stych, who is now proud to be called a liberal though I don’t think he’s a parasite. This […]


Leave a Reply

