Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

Through Thick and Thin

with one comment

Well, I am back from my journey to Canada. Roots and all that, I will post more at some point. Nothing terribly exciting happened, but customs got a good laugh when they X-rayed my bag and saw a giant metal bug. It’s an ashtray. The news though. Oh my. Lots of it. Cults going wild all over the place. Bush achieves a record low for popularity for a president. Some Austrian guy kept his daughter in a dungeon. The wars go on. The presidential primary race between Clinton and Obama is this low painful drone in the background, by the time it’s over the public will be so sick of them that people will vote for McCain just to get the bad taste out of their brains. Or maybe I’m just getting old and cynical. The clerk at MacDonald’s insisted on giving me my Coke today at the senior price. Some people would have been upset, I’m like “Cool, I just saved 40 cents.” I don’t think I look that old, but maybe my worries are ageing me prematurely.

Moving right along, in space the Phoenix lander is about to land on Mars and look for signs of life. This will be the first powered landing on Mars in some time, bouncing to the surface on big balloons is the more common method lately. (More on balloons later.) This will also be the first landing in Mar’s polar area if it succeeds. That’s if it succeeds, there have been previous failures. It’s tricky sending robot probes into space, but a good value for the money spent. I will certainly write about this landing after it occurs.

There’s a claim that a naturally occurring superheavy element has been discovered. With atomic number 122, this will be an amazing if confirmed. In fact if true, this is a breakthrough discovery that will change our understanding of the universe. It also has many practical applications, some of them so sinister as to almost beggar belief. It will take a whole post to explain it though, so that will have to wait.

I am writing a post on crackpot thinking that will probably upset a lot of people, since I think everyone believes in at least one silly thing. I believe in ghosts for example, I’m just smart enough not to say so in public (oops) and wise enough to know that logically my belief can’t be defended. In a similar vein I am writing about ten great myths Americans believe in, again I will likely step on a few toes there.

Back on Earth, gas prices continue to rise and food shortages are reported in various places. This can’t be good. Attacks on coalition and American forces are on the rise in Iraq and Afghanistan. It’s all Iran’s fault according to the Bush administration. In local news there’s even a water shortage. I can’t think of a way to blame that on Iran, but I’m sure I could come up with something if I tried.

Oh well. In news of the weird, no sign of the priest who tried to break the world’s record (19 hours) for flying using nothing but party balloons. He was doing this to raise money for a spiritual rest stop for truckers. And he drifted out to sea instead of over land as was planned. Though “planned” is probably a poor word to use for what was a really risky stunt. They did find some of his balloons though, so it’s a pretty good bet that the priest is now providing spiritual comfort to truckers as they arrive in heaven. Heck, maybe he drifted high enough that he just floated up to the Pearly Gates and God was so amused by his stunt that he was allowed to stay. There’s probably a joke in there somewhere, but I’m still too tired to try and think of it.

Have a great weekend everyone, I’m open to suggestions on what to write about for Monday’s post.

(The above image is claimed as Fair Use under US copyright law. It’s not being used for profit and is central to illustrating the post. I think it’s a Reuters image but am open to correction on that score. Speaking of celebrities, I guess Claudia Schiffer is really smart. I explained my idea for world peace to someone and they told me I have Schiffer brains.)

Written by unitedcats

May 2, 2008 at 8:44 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Apparently “cluster ballooning” is an actual recognized hobby… apparently 5 or 6 people worldwide regularly engage in the “sport”.

    And hey… if it’s good enough for Wile E. Coyote (think Warner Bros.) then it’s good enough for me!

    Andrew

    May 5, 2008 at 6:31 am


Leave a Reply

