Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

Oh My

with 7 comments

So many topics to blog about as the world slides into madness. Or maybe I’m chronicling my own descent into madness and despair. Maybe both. I’m pretty sure the world has always been pretty insane, and the more I study history and current events, the more supportable that conclusion seems. Not a terribly helpful or enlightening conclusion, so I won’t dwell on it. Instead I will dwell on various possible blog topics and world events.

First, the second part of my “surviving nuclear war” series. Well, turns out that the first part of the series was easy: “See the flash jump into a hole.” How to cope with invisible highly toxic dust falling from the sky has proved a bit trickier to blog about. The coping part is fairly easy actually, it’s writing about it in a clear and simple fashion that is holding up the train. I’d hate for people to misinterpret my instructions and die a lingering death from radiation poisoning if it could be avoided. Well, most people I guess.

I had an interesting thought on the surge in Iraq. There’s a real simple way to understand the “the surge is working” argument. It’s the exact same argument as the guy who claims: “Of course my dog is trained, watch this! Fido, chase that squirrel! Fido, bark at those children! Fido, sniff that other dog’s butt! See, he does everything I tell him!” Or in simpler terms, America and Americans continue to wildly overestimate how much they are in control of events in Iraq. The elements responsible for the reduction of violence in the surge we’re already in place before the surge, and the various benchmarks that Bush promised would be accomplished by the surge haven’t been met. So the surge basically accomplished nothing that it was claimed to be for, and the one thing it claims as its greatest accomplishment wasn’t due to the surge. Iraq is still a dreadful horrible mess, the only thing they can agree on is they want the USA to leave. Also, if the surge was such a success, why are there still more US troops in Iraq than before the surge?

Speaking of surges, the Obama phenomena is proceeding as I expected. The mainstream press is sabotaging him in a million subtle ways, and McCain is looking more electable every day. There’s another reason I keep saying I think McCain will win in the fall: No matter who wins the election, I won’t be disappointed. Personally I think my opinion on the upcoming election reflects my choosing the red pill, but I suppose some would disagree. And if the gentle reader doesn’t know what I am talking about, rent and watch The Matrix immediately. It’s required reading for this blog. The Matrix sequels, meh. Why would anyone build a giant motorized fighting machine, but have the operator on an exposed seat on the outside?

In crime news, the Anthrax case has been solved. Or so the FBI claims. This situation is fairly easy to parse. Who the hell knows what really happened? Maybe the suicided scientist really was guilty. Maybe the FBI botched the case and we’ll never now who did it. The Anthrax attacks were almost certainly a response to the 9/11 attacks. 9/11 could certainly have triggered an unstable individual to act, like our deceased doctor allegedly. Or maybe it was some foreign power adding insult to injury. I’m not exactly wild about the FBI, they have a very mixed record with both stunning success and embarrassing failure. They seem to do worse when under political pressure to solve cases, but maybe that’s just my imagination.

In world news, Georgia is apparently trying to re-establish control over the breakaway province of South Ossetia. In simpler terms, open civil war has broken out in Georgia. Georgia is a small country of four million between Turkey and Russia. South Ossetia is a small province of Georgia that declared independence in 1991. On the one hand, this is a very small war. On the other hand, the USA and NATO have thrown their support behind Georgia, and are trying to integrate it into the western sphere. Russia supports the South Ossetian drive for independence. And now Russian tanks are rolling into Georgia, this is breaking news and I will write more if it gets exciting. Could war between Russia and NATO break out over one of the least important regions in the world? Yes. See above comments regarding history and madness.

Have a great weekend everyone.

(The above image of Russian tanks rolling into Georgia in support of South Ossetia is claimed as Fair Use under US copyright law. It is not being used for profit, is central to illustrating the post, and arguably is an historically important image. Credit and copyright: Russia’s Channel 1. Why the west would try to make Georgia, a former part of the Soviet Union, into a western client state almost beggars belief, especially when they are simultaneously ignoring referendums in Ossetia that were almost 100% in favour of independence. That’s the west’s so called commitment to democracy illustrated, they are all for it…when the results of the vote are to their liking.)

Written by unitedcats

August 8, 2008 at 9:07 am

Posted in Politics, War, World

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think Wallace Shawn in “The Princess Bride” said it best and I must paraphrase, sorry.

    [Never get into a land war in Asia, and never … with a Sicilian when death is on the line.]

    OK come after me because I didn’t have the right quote, but he was right even if this Georgian war is “incon-thee-vable. cookingwithdee.net

    pawsinsd

    August 8, 2008 at 9:16 am

  2. I agree with your concerns about NATO stepping into the conflict in Georgia/South Ossetia. For the prospects of world war, I have become very concerned with the US/NATO and their general encirclement of Russia with former Soviet Republics joining NATO, missile defense shield, etc. However, I would disagree that this is one of the least important parts of the world (oil pipelines to the Caspian Sea, front-line of Russia-NATO’s post-communist struggle, etc), although you might have meant that as tongue-and-cheek given the scant American media coverage of this developing conflict over the last decade.

    Chris

    August 8, 2008 at 9:22 am

  3. It was somewhat tongue-in-cheek, I was more trying to simply convey the idea that this isn’t a part of the world where NATO and the West’s interests were so important that they should get into a military confrontation with Russia over it. Unless their design is to get into a military confrontation with Russia.

    unitedcats

    August 8, 2008 at 9:32 am

  4. “Classic blunders: The most famous is never get involved in a land war in Asia, but only slightly less well-known is this: never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line.”
    (Okay, I cheated)

    Marc André

    August 8, 2008 at 1:12 pm

  5. Thank you, Marc Andre for being a better student of good writing and movies than I. May I never have a battle of wills with you, especially one with iocane powder. As you wish, dear sir.

    pawsinsd

    August 8, 2008 at 2:11 pm

  6. You know, I don’t worry about this stuff. I should. I used to. But perhaps it’s testimony to the destruction of the last seven years that right now my foremost concern is trying to make ends meet. Long ago, in a long-dead journal, I said that I considered it a luxury to have the time and inclination to worry about what was going on halfway around the world. I was cracking wise at the time, but now I have to say that I hate it when I’m right. Perhaps I pay too much attention to movies like Zeitgeist, but there’s something to the conspiracy theory that the government’s aim is to beat the people down and starve the middle class, because then they’ll be too worried and depressed to fight back.

    Terri

    August 8, 2008 at 5:21 pm

  7. It’s worth remembering that Donald Rumsfeld was in charge when the anthrax which originated from that lab was sent.

    Michael

    August 10, 2008 at 12:07 am


Leave a Reply

