Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

How did I find out my neighbours were moving?

leave a comment »

Mappa_mundi

My neighbours that I was paying for my wireless connection I might add. Well, about ten yesterday morning their wireless hub abruptly vanished leaving me high and dry. I wandered over to see what was up, and they were packing up and moving. Gee, nice of them to give me a heads up that they were going to turn off the wireless hub and leave town. As I’ve said before, common courtesy is a lost art. I got back at them though, I put some open cans of tuna in their furniture when they weren’t looking.

So that’s why there is no post on battles or history or some such today, I’m using some wireless hub across the street on the other side of the building, and my connection is tenuous at best. No bars, no signal. Amazing I’ve gotten this far. On Wednesday with any luck I should be able to resume regular posts again, I’ve already made arrangements with a nice couple downstairs, they are having a Comcast wireless hub installed Tuesday. I hope. Otherwise I’ll have to try and post from my kitchen, which is where I am now. It’s not a pretty picture.

A few random notes on the world. I saw how some talking head in the Pentagon said that the Iraqi army is ready to “take charge” of Iraq’s cities. Um, if the “Iraqi army” has to “take charge” of its own cities, it’s a pretty good bet that many Iraqis don’t view the Iraqi army as their legitimate army. This statement is also a nice admission that things are still FUBARed in Iraq, but Americans are so used to their bleeding sore overseas empire now that it doesn’t really matter how bad things get in Iraq or Afghanistan. And the fact that there is essentially no anti-war movement, at least according to that mainstream press, is another fine example of how the mainstream press simply reports what Washington wants it to report.

Well, I guess my connection is still good enough to slip a rant in, go figure. I should comment on Iran and Honduras at this point too I suppose, but such requires Internet research, which my current Internet access can’t handle. (I’m standing on a chair for God’s sake.) This is also why I haven’t replied to any recent thought provoking comments. And just in general this is a very annoying situation.

The picture above is a Mappa Mundi, a medieval map of the world. I’d uploaded it for a prior post that never got posted, so this almost random post seemed like a good place for it. It’s rather stylized and would not have been much use for navigation. This was at time when people thought that the tropics were uninhabitable and that humans would never be able to visit the southern hemisphere, so only the northern hemisphere is shown. (People have known the world was a globe since well before Christ, the idea that Columbus set out to prove the world is round is a nineteenth century myth, like horns on Viking helmets or Marco Polo.)

And lastly, the latest Micheal Jackson news.: He’s still dead. Yeesh, this is as bad as  when Princess Di bought the farm. Have a great week everyone, I hope to be back up to speed here in a few days.

(The above image predates 1927 and is claimed as public domain under US copyright law. I got it here. It’s from the 15th century and this is what wikipedia has to say about it: “MAPPA MUNDI in JEAN MANSEL La Fleur des Histoires. Valenciennes, 1459-1463, manoscritto, penna, inchiostro e colori su pergamena, 30 X 22 cm (carta). Bruxelles, Bibliothèque Royale de Belgique, MS. 9231, fol. 281v. Mappa attribuita a Simom Marmion.” I haven’t a clue what that means.)

Written by unitedcats

June 29, 2009 at 11:08 am

Posted in Berkeley, History, World

Leave a Reply

