Doug's Darkworld

War, Science, and Philosophy in a Fractured World.

One Million Hits and Thanks for all the Comments

with 5 comments

TUNISIA ████████████████ : 100% done
EGYPT ████████████████ : 100% done
ALGERIA ███░░░░░░░░░░░░░: in progress
YEMEN: ███░░░░░░░░░░░░░: in progress
PALESTINE: ░░░░░░░░░░░░░: VIRUS DETECTED

 

Well, I recently passed a million hits on Doug’s Darkworld. Kinda of a strange feeling. A million people have looked at my blog. Or my one or two regular readers visit it a whole lot I suppose, I’m not a tech guy so I don’t really know what those numbers mean. I do get a lot of comments, so I’m pretty sure it means I have a fair number of readers. Speaking of not being a tech guy, the guy who runs the wireless point I use took a week to figure out that all he had to do to get it working again was to hit the reset button. So I’m back on line and will try to post more regularly from herein out.

And again, thanks for all the comments. When I started this up I feared I would get all sorts of basically dumb or insulting (or both) comments, since that seems to be the norm on so many sites. Nope, very few indeed, I think I’ve only deleted one or two comments through the years for being patently offensive. In fact many of the comments are so thoughtful that I don’t have the time to respond to them. At least until I get a corporate sponsor and can quit my day job. Hint hint. Of course with my luck I’ll end up with the Scholl’s Odor Eater blog or some such.

Moving right along, well, Mubarak is gone. I’m sure him and his family have enough money to live several lifetimes, several millennium if some reports are to be believed. Hopefully things will go smoothly from here and a real constitutional democracy will be established. Sadly I fear that what will happen is what happened in the case of so many other recent “revolutions.” The guy at the top will flee (or be shot in some cases,) a mock democracy will be set up, and things will carry on pretty much as before. There have been very few real revolutions in the past century, for the most part the wealth and power remains concentrated in the same hands, and what changes that are made are superficial. Still, the trend has been toward more social and political freedom even when no big transfers of wealth have occurred, so I am optimistic.

As for what this means for the USA, I’m tired of hearing about it. All it means is that once again our spectacularly short-sighted, patronizing, self-serving, foreign policy has blown up in our face … and there is no plan B. No worries, the imminent collapse of the dollar will no doubt give us much more to worry about. I do plan to write a post soon on the Muslim Brotherhood, it’s an interesting organization with a long and checkered history. It’s not a incipient Al Qaeda, in fact Al-Qaeda has bitterly criticized the Muslim Brotherhood because of their secular and democratic leanings, and any organization criticized by Al Qaeda must be doing something right.

There’s been a lot of science news lately, I’ll get around to covering that soon. Dinosaur news and space exploration news for starters. There’s been an interesting discovery about the Voynich manuscript, a topic always near and dear to my heart. Weather has been in the news lately. Here in Berkeley it’s been sunny with record warmth. I’ve been sitting on the balcony in my shirt sleeves writing this while admiring the beautiful sunset. There’s been some snow in other parts of the country, but the Midwest is uninhabitable as far as I am concerned, so I haven’t paid much attention to it. My Midwestern friends are always welcome to come visit me and enjoy some sun, there’s enough for everyone. All these storms remind me I should do another post on global warming again, even if just to reinforce the point that climate and weather are two entirely different things.

As always, comments, questions, and suggestions are welcome.

(The above image comes to me by way of a contact in Egypt. She is ecstatic at the turn of events there, who can blame her?)

 

 

Written by unitedcats

February 14, 2011 at 12:15 pm

Posted in Berkeley, Uncategorized, World

Tagged with

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree Doug, I live in Tampa, home of CenCom. People here in tampa area amazed our Intelligence did not detect the Egypt Situation.

    Chris@Apple Roof Cleaning

    February 14, 2011 at 12:23 pm

  2. Congrats, Doug! Your blog always gives me something to think about.

    Cult of Truth

    February 14, 2011 at 3:37 pm

  3. Doug I love your blog so much that I subscribe to it! just thought i’d let ya know ;)

    iTasteLikeCandy

    February 14, 2011 at 11:09 pm

  4. Congrats on the one million mark Doug. Looking forward to future posts.

    Josh V.

    February 15, 2011 at 12:00 pm

  5. Congratulations. Very well done.

    michaelgreenwell

    February 17, 2011 at 6:52 am


Leave a Reply

